Tag Archives: EP

Yunalis Zarai as Yuna

Yunalis Zarai (born November 14, 1986 in Alor Setar, Kedah, Malaysia) or commercially known as Yuna, a Malaysian singer-songwriter. Yuna is an independent Malaysian singer-songwriter. She began writing her own songs when she was 14 years old, and her first performance of her own songs was at the age of 19, after she learned how to play guitar. She has performed in numerous acoustic shows and events in many parts of Malaysia since 2006. Yuna was eventually discovered in the US by the Indie-Pop record label and management company. They flew out to Malaysia to convince her to sign with them and then proceeded to get her a deal with FADER Label, a record label based in New York, in February 2011. She released her debut US EP, Decorate, in the United States in March the same year. Yuna started out as a solo MySpace artist in 2006, singing in both English and Malay. Her music influences include Feist, The Cardigans, Coldplay, Sia and Bob Dylan. Yuna’s meteoric rise in the Malaysian indie music scene is largely due to the strong following she gained via Myspace. Having played at many gigs since the release of her Demo, EP and then two local albums, she is now focusing on promoting and performing music on her debut US Album.Yuna also will be a part of Lollaplooza 2012 line up.   Yuna describes her music as “a cross between Mary Poppins and Coldplay”. In 2008,she released her self titled EP which become a massive hit in Malaysia most notably the single ‘Deeper Conversation’ Yuna was nominated as one of MTV Iggy’s Best New Bands in the World. She performed at the historic MTV Studios in Times Square New York singing “Decorate”, “Come As You Are” and her new single “Live Your Life”, which is produced by Pharrell Williams of N.E.R.D.

Dann Hume

Dann Hume (born Daniel Benjamin Cobbe, 1 September 1987, Whangaparaoa, New Zealand) is a singer-songwriter, multi-instrumentalist, and record producer. Hume, is the youngest of three brothers (with Peter Hume and Jon Hume) who make up the alternative rock band, Evermore since 1999. Hume has co-written songs for Evermore such as “Running”, “Light Surrounding You” and “It’s Too Late”.

Born Daniel Benjamin Cobbe, Dann is the youngest brother of the Hume family. In 1999 the brothers formed Evermore in Feilding. The shortest of the brothers, he always wears glasses, even while drumming. He has co-written songs for Evermore such as “Running”, “Light Surrounding You” and the first single from Dreams, “It’s Too Late”. As a musician, Hume plays guitar, bass guitar, keyboards, harmonica, drums and percussion.

Hume has hosted Rock Room on Channel V with James Mathison.

In 2007, Dann co-wrote with Lisa Mitchell “Incomplete Lullaby”, which is on Mitchell’s debut EP, Said One to the Other, which Hume produced. In 2008, he returned to co-write with Mitchell, “A Little Ramblin’ Blues for Any Hour”, on her second EP, Welcome to the Afternoon, and played all the piano, harmonica and percussion on it. Hume then produced Mitchell’s debut album Wonder, released 31 July 2009.

Hume also produced the debut album by Melbourne six-piece Alpine, which is called A is for Alpine and was released in 2012 through Ivy League Records.



2NE1 ( two-eh-nee-one) is a popular South Korean hip-hop/pop girl group formed by YG Entertainment in 2009. The band consists of four members: CL, Dara, Bom and Minzy. The name 2NE1 combines the phrases “21st century” and “new evolution”, and is pronounced “twenty-one” or “to anyone”.


They first appeared in “Lollipop”, a commercial campaign with Big Bang for LG Electronics, and their debut single “Fire” was released on May 6, 2009. Since then, the group has released two extended plays, 2NE1 and 2NE1 2nd Mini Album, and one studio album, To Anyone.


Their first EP, 2NE1 spawned the number-one single “”I Don’t Care”, which won them the “Song of the Year” award from the Mnet Asian Music Awards. Their follow-up singles, such as “Go Away”, “Lonely” and “I Am The Best” were similarly successful.

2NE1 officially debuted in Japan in September 2011 with a mini album titled NOLZA, which contained re-made versions of their Korean songs. Since then, the group has released one mini-album NOLZA and one physical single “Go Away”.

Representing South Korea, 2NE1 emerged as the winner in the voting competition for “Best New Band”, which was an international competition held by MTV Iggy. The band was officially crowned the winner on November 10, 2011.


Fans of 2NE1 are called Blackjacks, which is a reference to the card game Blackjack, also known as Twenty-one